4 Ways to Fight the Winter Blahs

Between the steady rain for the last 3 days, and the 2 days of heavy fog before that, I have not seen the sun since Friday. It is also disgustingly cold. Sadly, this is pretty typical for mid-winter around here. For someone whose mood is as dependent on the weather as me, it’s easy to fall into a steady state of “blah”. How do I combat it?

1. I wear as much sparkle and shine as I can get away with while still looking like a reasonably respectable professional. Sometimes that means hiding a bit of sparkle under a tamer cardigan or dress.

sparkle

 

2. I wear lots of deep, saturated colors in a semi-deliberate attempt to counter the dark and grey outside. Bonus points if I can combine the rich colors with some shiny.

saturated

 

3. I wear the warmest, softest, most decadent clothes I own – this is where being a knitter comes in handy. The warm and fuzzy against my bare skin is a little tactile treat that almost replaces the warm sun on my bare skin.

esmeralda lace

4. I work out like a madman. This is partly because the workout itself boosts my mood, but also partly because it leaves more room for the comfort foods that also boost my mood. Bread and soup, anyone?

baking

What do you do to keep the “blahs” at bay?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on January 17, 2013 at 9:31 am

    It’s kind of shocking how little time I spend outdoors this time of year. No more than a few minutes a day, walking to and from my car. Time was, I walked to school and biked in the winter. And I think I was more chipper.

    So what do I do to keep the blahs at bay? Lots of stuff inside, but not nearly enough outdoor activities.

    Reply

    • I struggle with the outdoor stuff too. It’s dark when I leave for work, dark soon after I get back, and with all the rain and clouds rarely really “light” even when the sun hasn’t set yet. This isn’t really a walking friendly city either…

      Reply

  2. 1. Knitting
    2. Playing with and snuggling my two adorable dogs (and husband, lol)
    3. Knitting
    4. Fitness classes at my local gym :)

    Reply

  3. Hmmm…I think I may take up some of your activities! Usually, I just try to wear the brightest things I knit for myself in the seasons before, lol. This week I’m going with a lime green cowl and some gloves that semi-match with it. Bright orange and lime green. Peas and carrots. I love that combination!

    Reply

  4. [...] couple of weeks ago, I posted some tips on feeling good in the endless winter dullness. Since this is a knitting blog, I think a more [...]

    Reply

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 374 other followers

