Messy Bag Disaster

So I put a nice, tidy lace WIP into my knitting bag, and pulled it back out looking like this:

disaster

Not my favorite moment of the day. I don’t normally have issues with things getting mangled in their bags. I put them in nicely and don’t abuse the bags, so generally things come out pretty much like they went in. Occasionally an especially slippery dpn will pull out of a sock, but that’s something I can plan for. This one surprised me. So I put it down, had a little chocolate, and then set about “reading” the lace to see what I could salvage. Have I mentioned that this project is pretty much cursed and I’ve restarted twice already? Not to mention it seems to be a personal favorite of the cat, so there’s been some serious reknitting there too.

missing sts

See that circled bit there? That’s where a 4th AND 5th purl stitch unraveled all the way into nothingness. Oh yay. Unlike April Showers, dropped stitches are not the look I’m going for here.

dropped sts

I managed to get that put back together fairly respectably (see arrow) thanks to judicious use of my trusty crochet hook. Then it was time to attack the next issue – that looooooong loop of yarn that is 2 more purl stitches dropped into nothingness, plus 3 more stitches dropped down 1 row and another that unraveled 2 rows just for fun. There was another monstrosity like that towards the end of the row.

All in all it took about twice as long to fix that little half row as it would to knit a full row, but I did NOT do any serious ripping. I’m going to consider that a victory.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on February 11, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Good for you for being so patient.

    I just had an issue a bit like this in which I needed to rip back to a lifeline, but then discovered that the lifeline had pulled through on one side. Gahhh.

    Reply

  2. So proud that you were able to fix it. I’ve grown more and more comfortable with fixing mistakes but mistakes in lace is something I’ve yet to try. Though I must admit I’ve done little in lace knitting….

    Reply

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 350 other followers

