It Came!

The yarn for my new shawl design arrived! Since I’ve talked so much about it already, I’m going to experiment with sharing the whole design process with you guys. It’ll be self-published if it turns out well, so there’s nothing forcing me to secrecy. Might as well try something different!

sterling

 

The Gloss is not noticeably shiny in the skein; definitely more grey than silver. It does have a nice…I dunno, liveliness… to it that is clearly the result of the silk though. It also feels every bit as squishy and delicious as the heavier weight version. I can’t wait to start swatching with it. The next big decision is beads.

beads

 

Purple to match the main wedding color? Yellow to make the other yellow accents (like our flowers) pop? Clear to really bling out the silver and make it just plain sparkle? I’m going to swatch with each color to see what I like best, but I’d love to hear your thoughts too!

17 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t wait to see your design process, I’m always looking for ways to improve mine

    Reply

  2. I’m digging the idea of those lovely purple beads! :D Cant wait to see how the shawl goes…!

    Reply

  3. Cannot wait to see how this turns out, the sheen on that yarn will be fantastic against beads!

    Reply

  4. Posted by caityrosey on May 16, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    Purple appeals to me. But I like the idea of the clear beads too. It seems more versatile.

    Reply

  5. Purple for sure! A polite nod to the wedding colour. And beautiful too.

    Reply

  6. Depending how the swatch turns out, I would go with clear to let the yarn shine. Plus it would be more versatile after the wedding?

    Reply

  7. Love your blog. We nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://knittingraysofhope.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Reply

  8. I think the clear would look amazing, but I am also leaning to the purple. Cannot wait to see it.

    Reply

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 350 other followers

