Shawl Progress

The shawl is coming along nicely. It’s reached the point where it covers my lap when I knit, but since it’s lace it’s not really problematic. Don’t know that I’d work on it outside in mid-day, but in the cooler hours or indoors, it’s fine.

shawl

I’ve finished the initial, beaded lace section and moved on to the center, unbeaded section. This is a much larger and less repetitive chart, so my progress will probably slow here for a bit. Since I’ll be doing a good bit of traveling and oh yeah, MOVING in July, that’ll probably slow me down too. I’m still feeling excited and eager to work on this thing though, so that’s a good sign!

bead detail

10 responses to this post.

  1. hey, that’s really pretty! I have made a few lace things that I thought would do well with beads, I’ll have to try it.

    Reply

    • Thanks! Beading is surprisingly addictive. :-)

      Reply

      • I have done it on other projects, jus tnot a complicated lace shawl – it already felt complicated enough! My cousin recommended a good book for learning how to do it – knit one bead two by someone I can’t recall right now. I got the book also, and have made a few of the projects – scarf and socks, at the least. My cousin made the sweater – it is truly beautiful, but so bead laden that it is heavy, and seems to be stretching out, so she can’t wear it often. But gently scattered across a lace shawl would not add that much weight…

      • Weight was the problem with the first swatch I did for this shawl too. It’s definitely a fine line to walk.

  2. That is lovely, I just adore the detail work! Cannot wait to see it finished, good vibes coming your way from the Buckeye State!

    Reply

  3. It looks lovely – so neat!

    Reply

  4. Really pretty. Keep going as I’d love to see the finished shawl!

    Reply

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers

