Bel Air

It seems like every time I fall off the face of the earth, I return with a new pattern. If only disappearing from the blog world for a few days could magically produce new patterns without all the work! I actually have two new patterns to introduce in the next couple weeks, but today I’m proud to present my new Bel Air socks.
bel air socks
These started as a stash-busting project for me, as I have a rather embarrassingly large number of partial skeins of sock yarn laying around from old projects. While I’ve indicated the yarns I used for the sample, pretty much any old sock yarn you have in your stash will work just as well.
bel air
Bel Air is worked from the toe up with a short-row heel, and is for the most part made with basic, quick-knitting stripes. There are two small bands of stranded work as well – one just past the toes, and one just before the cuff. I feel these add both visual interest and knitting interest, without detracting from the overall “quick and easy” feel of these socks.
bel air leg
And really, this time of year? Quick, easy and interesting sounds almost like the Holy Grail of knitting. Hooray for instant gratification!
9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on February 23, 2014 at 10:42 am

    I like the idea of inserting random bands of colorwork on striped items. That same pattern would be fun to insert on a sweater. Liven up the Paulie pattern a little bit.

    Reply

  2. Those are darling! We need more sock designs for partial skeins.

    Reply

  3. Very cute!!!

    Reply

  4. Those look great! I love the little bits of colorwork near the toe and cuff. Just enough for interest, but not too much to make it a headache!

    Reply

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

