Nerds

My husband and I are different flavors of nerd. He’s the math, science, sci-fi kind of nerd, and I’m the history, sociology, linguistics type of nerd. We get along because we’re both psych nerds and both reading addicts, and because at the end of the day, apples and oranges might be different but they’re still both fruit. 😀

Occasionally there is a disconnect though. Today is apparently “May the Fourth Be With You” Day, and a Big Deal in hubby’s world. Since I’m not the sci-fi addict he is, he is out with the boys tonight, enjoying an epic Star Wars marathon with his buddies.

I, on the other hand, am cozied up at home with my knitting and the latest issue of Interweave Knitting.

tonight's plans

Right now I’m content to knit and read and watch the storms roll in, but maybe later I’ll drum up a nice period piece on Netflix. Because I can watch movies he hates too. So there. 😉

2 responses to this post.

  1. I can only knit a straight line. I often wonder what’s wrong with me. I may finish the scarf I started last winter by next winter.

    Reply

    • “What’s wrong” is probably the same thing that kept my mother in stockinette for years – you’ve never had a reason to learn anything else. There are a multitude of excellent patterns that don’t require increasing or decreasing so you probably won’t get bored. Someday though, you’ll probably see that awesome hat or pair of socks you can’t live without, and decide to learn after all!

      Reply

What do you think?

