The Opposite of Start-itis

Almost every knitter is familiar with start-itis – that phase where we are completely overcome by all the pretty and somehow convince ourselves that it’s totally practically to start every.single.pattern. in our queues right NOW! I have a weird variation of start-itis, and it’s not one I’ve ever had before. I don’t even know what to call it.

I don’t want to start…anything. It’s not that I don’t want to knit. I want to knit pretty constantly. I just don’t want to have to think about it. I don’t want to have to choose or write a pattern, I don’t want to have to look up how many to cast on, or stop and read a chart every two seconds, or even go digging through my stash for the right yarn. I love digging through the stash! What’s wrong with me?!

I have several projects on the needles right now, but one of them is loaded with chart-dependent colorwork

Image

Two are my own design, which means lots of stopping and starting and recalculation, and the last is my Sky Scarf, which is only 2 little rows a day.

Basically, I have lots of knitting options, but I don’t like any of them. I’m also feeling way too unmotivated to start anything else. So, I mostly sit and whine about how I don’t have anything to knit. My husband then  arches a pointed eyebrow at the knitting projects slowly taking over our couch.

What’s a girl to do?

What do you think?

