Mindfulness

I’ve been getting a lot of headaches, stomachaches, and inexplicable bruises lately. I didn’t notice how many until my husband pointed it out. All four of those things are pretty typical warning signs that I am not managing my stress. One of the perks of being married is I now have someone to be mindful for me when I forget. I also have someone who, through absolutely no action of his own, makes me feel guilty when I’m not taking care of myself. When I suffer, he suffers. And I don’t like it when he suffers.

So, it’s time to start paying attention to what my body is telling me again; to be mindful of myself and my surroundings. A good thorough workout always helps, and I have been keeping up with those. As soon as I started paying attention to my body again, I realized that I’ve been sore for over a week now. Maybe I’ve been going a little too hard in an effort to force all of my stress out in my sweat. Today I deliberately took it a little easier.

After, it was time for a nice, simple dinner and some cuddle time on the couch. I took an extra-long look at the gently drizzling sky before working on my Sky Scarf. It’s about twilight here, and the bird song outside my open window is finally louder than the traffic. Even though I live in a city, my “happy place” is definitely outside. It’s amazing how instantly soothing things like the birds or a breeze through the trees is.

Knitting-wise, I’m taking a break (if only for a day or two) from all the unpublished, unfinished patterns. Too much reworking and frustration. A coworker has a baby shower coming up, so I’m making a toy. Puzzled is abso-friggin’-lutely adorable, and knits up waaaay faster than anything else I’m working on. Instant (almost) gratification in wool form. It doesn’t look like much yet, but I am excited again.

puzzle

Unfortunately there’s not much I can do about the sources of my stress (mostly work-related), but I think mindfulness is a pretty decent way to manage the results. What do you do to manage stress?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on May 21, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    Well, I often use knitting to manage stress, but that doesn’t sound like it would work for you.

    I also go for runs. Pet the cats. Ask my bf to rub my head. Abs above all, I remind myself that the source if stress (if work related) won’t last forever and I just need to live until X days from now, then it will all be over.

    Reply

    • The baby toy is actually working pretty well as knitting stress-relief. Asking for a head/neck rub sounds like a pretty awesome idea though. And I am definitely counting the days til the school year is over!

      Reply

  2. Hmmm, dealing with stress … knit, cycle and bake!

    Reply

What do you think?

