Retakes

Posting links to my previously published patterns on this blog has forced me to look at some patterns I haven’t seen for a while. It was a little painful. While I’m still not real happy with my photography skills, suddenly I notice that I’ve gotten a lot better than I used to be. I also notice that my camera is painfully inadequate.

I did a little research and quickly discovered that I can’t even begin to afford the sorts of cameras recommended by the experts. Instead, I found one several other knitters claim to like and bought an older version of it – this one:

Photo by Amazon.com

I can’t wait til it gets here so I can start playing around with it. I’ve never had a camera with a manual mode before, and I’m very excited to see what it can do. I’ve also been reading up on photography tips because, really? Shots like this should never have been allowed to see the light of day.

I promise this shawl is much prettier than the photo indicates.

As soon as my new camera arrives I’m going to start digging out the old samples (those I still have, at least) and reshooting. Those I don’t have samples for anymore will force a tough decision – live with the lousy photos, or send the pattern out of print? Or reknit it? As if I have time for that with all the unpublished stuff on my needles right now! Then comes the next scary step – tweaking all my old patterns to make sure they’re consistent with the style I’ve settled into. Hold me?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on June 16, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    I’ve been thinking about getting my hands on a dress form for use in photographing my piece. Solves the problem of choosing a model or having to cut your own head out of a photo on a bad hair day. Plus, the dress form never has a fat day.

    Reply

    • Once upon a time I made a duct-tape dress form that was awesome for “trying on” half finished sweaters. It was possibly the best $10 I ever spent, but sadly she did not take well to being hung in the closet and I haven’t bothered making a new one yet.

      Reply

What do you think?

