Mid-year Sky Scarf Update

Well, it’s July1 (happy Canada Day to any Canadian readers!) and I’ve now put in an even 6 months of work on the Sky Scarf.

sky scarf

For those who haven’t done one, the idea is to knit 2 rows/rounds each day that match the color of the sky that day. Personally, I also add beads when it rains or snows. With the exception of the wicked overnight storm we had Friday night/Saturday morning, there hasn’t been much rain to speak of lately.

The scarf is only halfway done, but it’s already long enough to be complete.

scarf length

In this shot the other end of the scarf is just touching the floor. It’s a solid 50 inches (127 cm), which means it’ll be of absolutely epic proportions by New Year’s. Part of me thinks that’s going to be really cool, but a tiny, quiet part of me kind of wishes I’d used lace weight. This is Knit Picks’ Palette, which has a fantastic array of color options (even more now than when I first ordered, it appears), but is fingering weight.

folded scarf

It sure does look pretty all bundled up though. Even if the scarf does barely fit in the basket any more.

12 responses to this post.

  1. That’s such a cool project! It’s sort of like a knitted time capsule or journal.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Craftie Allie on July 1, 2012 at 11:05 am

    I had planned on doing this but didn’t have the money to order yarn. I’m gonna try it next year, though 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Craftie Allie on July 1, 2012 at 11:06 am

    And I love the bead idea! Too clever!!

    Reply

  4. I’ve never heard of a project like this; what a wonderful idea! I suppose you could create a project like this with many themes, say like 2 rows of a color to express one’s mood. What a great homework assignment for someone in therapy for example! Beautiful scarf, thanks for sharing this idea and project! 😀

    Reply

  5. I had not heard of this scarf…how interesting. And for someone that loves blues, I’ll have to keep it in mind for future projects.

    Reply

    • There’s definitely a lot more blue than I’d expected. I thought it would be more grey, but apparently we have better weather than I’ve ever noticed before.

      Reply

  6. How cool! I’ll keep that in mind for next year.

    Reply

  7. Did you hold the fingering weight yarn double?

    Reply

What do you think?

