Being Bicraftual

With the new school year underway my time lately has been pretty consumed by trying to figure out how to cram all 10 of us into our room and trying to figure out schedules, new official forms, new laws, etc. I’ve knit maybe 40 stitches since my last post. So instead of boring you with my absolute lack of crafting this week, I’m going to expand on a story I shared with Gmaellen last week.

crochet hook

 

 

I learned to knit at a fairly young age, after my family full of crocheters pretty spectacularly failed at teaching me how to crochet. I always maintained an interest in crochet, but somehow had it set in my mind that it was something I just couldn’t do. I was a knitter, not a crocheter. In my mind you really couldn’t be both.

Then I discovered that my crocheting friend “A” could also knit. She insisted that crocheting was even easier than knitting and I could definitely pick up the basics in an afternoon or two. She even offered to loan me one of her hooks and teach me right then and there. I was skeptical, but since she was my friend I agreed.

honeymoon potholders

Crocheted these on the plane during our honeymoon. Airlines never complain about crochet hooks.

I quickly worked up a foundation chain, which was about as far as I’d ever gotten before. Chain stitches aren’t wildly different from slip knots, so they always made sense. After that I was lost. I watched “A” easily form row after row of single, double, and triple crochet but I just could not make my stitches look like hers. I may at one point have accused her of magic.

Finally, after what felt like hours but was probably about 30 minutes, I had the hook going in the right directions without 30 seconds of thought before each stitch, and I was definitely making fabric. I was excited, and proudly showed “A” my work. She looked at my work, and looked at me, and looked back at my work. After a moment, she informed me that I had just discovered how to knit with a crochet hook.

dance skirt

I literally wore this skirt out.  Pattern “Lara’s Dance Skirt” by Doris Chan.

At that point I was pretty ready to accept that I would never be “bicraftual” and throw in the metaphorical towel. “A” was not ready to give up though. She really dialed it back to the basis and even compared each part of each step to knitting. There were a lot of YOs, k2togs, k3togs, and picked up stitches in my early crochet stitches, or so I thought. Looking back now as a trained teacher I know she was lowering my affective filter, but at the time I just called it a miracle.

That Christmas we exchanged lapghans and I’ve been both knitting and crocheting ever since. It still makes me proud.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Such a funny post name! : ) I like to knit & crochet, I don’t discriminate.

    Reply

What do you think?

