The Best Kind of Exhaustion

I am absolutely wrecked, physically and mentally, but it is well worth it. We were crazy enough to try to travel down the Eastern seaboard on Labor Day, and a cancelled train paired with several delays on the other trains we took means we got home painfully late last night (at least, painfully late for those of us who have to be up before sunrise the next morning)! Still, it was either risk that happening, or miss out on my cousin’s wedding. Since I don’t have too many first cousins, and they live far enough away that we don’t see each other too often, it was no contest.

site

Possibly the prettiest wedding site I’ve ever seen.

The outdoor weather was unseasonably warm, which led to me getting eaten alive by mosquitoes at the backyard rehearsal dinner, but also meant I didn’t have to spend the whole weekend all bundled up. The new sweater did make an appearance during dinner though, because New York and I differ in opinion on the appropriate level of air conditioning for temps in the 80s.

sweater

Brr!

Luckily, with that side of the family’s strong Irish and German ancestry, there was plenty of booze and dancing before long. Being cold was definitely not a problem once we were all in party mode!

dancing

I danced so much that not only my feet but my *legs* are sore.

The other upside of spending so much time on the train? I had plenty of time to knit!

hat

New hat!

brim

…and the brim of the same hat.

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on September 5, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Hmm. Haven’t knitted hats in a while. That one looks pretty approachable. Pattern?

    Reply

  2. I like your taste in colors. That rich purple color for the hat is gorgeous.

    Reply

    • Thanks! I discovered the other day that my neighbors are growing grapes, and think that (and the coming Fall) are the inspiration for all these reds and purples I’ve been craving lately.

      Reply

What do you think?

