Jogless Stripes

This is one of those things that seem completely obvious in retrospect, but I somehow managed not to learn for years and years of knitting. Normally, when knitting stripes in flat fabric, you simply change colors at the end of the row et voilà, perfect stripes. However, since knitting in the round actually creates a spiral of fabric, if you change colors this way in the round you’ll get a jog, or uneven stripes:

jog

Boo! Hiss!

The solution is mind-blowingly simply though. When you change colors (at the end of the round) knit your first round like normal. Then on the second round, slip the first stitch.

slip

Sliiiip!

That’s it. Literally. Problem solved. Continue knitting as normal, slipping the first stitch of the second round on each stripe. As you can see, it produces a much nicer stripe.

jogless

Hooray!!

Need a project to practice on? Try my September Storms.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on September 18, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    That’s a wonderful tip. Makes me wonder what works for patterned stripes.

    Reply

  2. I love that technique! Makes me feel so smart when I do it. 🙂

    Reply

  3. This is such a useful tip, especially for newer knitters. I’ve seen so many hats with “jogs” and I always want to say something, but instead just tell the creator how beautiful the hat is. I’ve learned to wait to be asked “is there anything I can do about this?” 🙂

    Reply

    • Always better to tread lightly – wouldn’t want to scare off an insecure crafter! But there are so many things I can’t believe I didn’t learn sooner…

      Reply

      • Agreed! I learned something new today, in fact! Take a peek at Linda Marveng’s latest blog … she’s got a couple of videos and demonstrates various techniques. I really liked the one about knitting a hem. If you don’t understand Norwegian, on that hem video fast forward to when she picks up needles … you’ll be able to follow.

      • Neato; thanks!

  4. This is definitely something I need to remember! Very simple but makes the final piece so much better!

    Reply

  5. aha! thank you 🙂

    Reply

What do you think?

