Portrait of an October Sunday

Sundays are awesome any time of year, but this time of year in particular, I loooove Sunday. A few of the reasons? Well, take a look at what today has in store.

The temperature is chillier than I would like outside, but inside it’s a perfect day to open the windows and slip on some alpaca.

slippers

Pattern “Cozy Toes” by J. L. Fleckenstein

Any time I don’t have to wear shoes is a good time. Additionally, Sundays in autumn mean sports. I’m still a bit bitter about the lack of NHL hockey in my life right now, but at least there’s still football. Plus, football is a great excuse for football foods, like the home-brew and warm pita we’re currently chowing down on.

football food

As my husband would say, “deliciosity”.

It’s also several hours of (almost) uninterrupted knitting time. Extra important when you’re knitting on a deadline as I am now. Though the knitting may have hit the floor when Ryan Kerrigan scored a couple minutes ago.

sleep sack

Pattern “Owlie Sleep Sack” by Teresa Cole

With any luck, especially with how long NFL games are taking this season, I’ll finish the sleep sack before the players finish their game. Then comes the best part of Sundays: I have alllllll day to cook whatever strikes my fancy. There’s currently a big old pork shoulder in the Crock Pot and the promise of homemade rolls and caramel apples later. Take that, work week.

crock

Wish you could smell this. Seriously.

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. That is a GREAT Sunday. 😀

    Reply

  2. Posted by caityrosey on October 8, 2012 at 9:31 am

    I know someone who just had a baby. That sleep sack is a very good idea. Only I have so many knitting priorities right now that the sleep sack will be a hat before I get around to it.

    Reply

What do you think?

