Tuesdays Are For Spinning?

All the awesome spinning my blog buddies have been doing lately is making me jealous. I have a spindle, and I do technically know how to use it (more or less). But invariably my arm gets tired and my feet get tired before I get a full cop. Then by the time I ply my yarn is way thicker than anything I ever knit with, and I can not seem to get the hang of spinning anything smaller, let alone anything an even size. I know some of this is because I always lose interest before I give it long enough to get any muscle memory.

spindle

My spindle, let me show it to you.

I want to spin pretties like my friends. I know if I stick to it long enough I’ll be able to, but I need some encouragement to stick to it. I know the Yarn Harlot says Tuesdays are for spinning, and that’s good enough for me. So from now on, every Tuesday or Wednesday I need you guys to ask about what I spun this week. If I just make the promise to myself I’ll once again quietly “forget” once I get frustrated, but if you guys keep bugging me I’ll be embarrassed enough to keep spinning. 😉 Plus, I’m hoping for some encouraging tips and stories about your early spinning to keep me motivated!

So, for the first of what darn well better be many Tuesdays, here’s what I’ve spun today:

cop

See, I was productive! I deserve a cookie.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Craftie Allie on October 24, 2012 at 12:02 am

    I’ve tried spinning so many times and just can’t get it. I need someone to show me in person.

    Reply

  2. Posted by caityrosey on October 24, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Looks like a good start for a spinning Tuesday. I should take a photo of what I was spinning last night. It’s all orange and pumpkin-y.

    Reply

What do you think?

