Frankenstorm

Hurricane Sandy has apparently set her sights on Virginia, although she’ll likely be nothing but remnants by the time she gets here. This in itself is nothing special. We live on the coast. It’s a bit later in the year than normal, but not notably. Apparently she’ll be arriving at the same time as a cold front from the opposite direction though, which I’m told makes it a big deal. Local media is making a huge, dire-sounding drama of it, and many of my coworkers have already decided we’ll have Monday and/or Tuesday off. There are long lines at all the grocery stores too, and since it’s very dark and a bit drizzly here people are screaming that the storm’s hit early.

I am not yet impressed. Wind, rain, and mild to moderate flooding are pretty common things in this town. This so called “Frankenstorm” mash-up could turn out to be every bit as big a deal as they’re saying, but it seems equally likely it’ll just be 3 days of rain. At least it doesn’t seem like it’ll miss us entirely, the way some doom-and-gloom forecasts do.

Nonetheless, I have made sure I’m well-stocked on all the important things, at least:

stockpile

I think you’ll agree I’m well prepared.

I’m not holding my breath yet, but if you don’t hear from me for a week or so, you’ll know we lost power.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I made the mistake of going to the grocery store a bit ago, and it was a mess. I’ve made the decision that, since everyone else thinks that it is going to be such a huge storm, nothing is going to happen. A wee bit of wind, some rain, and it will all be over 😉

    Reply

  2. Since you just liked my post, I think/hope everything is still ok down there 🙂 People are freaking out up in Canada too, because we’re supposed to get the tail end of it tomorrow night. 90km winds, blah blah. I just got back from the grocery store and they were out of everything. *sigh*

    Reply

    • Yep, we’re still doing fine here. The rain has arrived, and some moderate wind, but nothing serious yet. Hubby is at work checking out some flood damage; I’m a teacher and luckily home today. No power loss yet, but the radar says the heavy stuff hasn’t gotten here yet.

      Reply

What do you think?

