Sandy Continues

Still here, unscathed and fully powered! I think part of the reason we’ve been lucky so far is because we are so darn used to flooding in this town. We are all prepared.

old town

Picture by Monique Lyons via Patch.com

Other places have not been so lucky. My aunt an hour and a half east of here has had more than 3 inches of rain already, and her power has been off and on since 11 last night. Believe it or not, the western (mountainous) side of the state is under blizzard watches. Lots of “snowicane” jokes from my colleagues out there. Pretty much everything in the area has shut down today and preemptively for tomorrow too. It seems a little odd while I’m sitting here warm and well lit, and the outside looks like this:

leaves

The leaves are pretty much gone now.

blow

It is indeed blowing out there.

But while plenty’s been blown about, and there are some trees starting to fall, nothing’s been majorly damaged here. Inside, I’m working happily on this,

raglan

I have high hopes for this one.

and my biggest worry is that there’s a hurricane outside and I have exactly this many rain beads left for my Sky Scarf:

beads

NOT ENOUGH!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Lol! It looks like you are weathering the storm nicely there too! We are some fearless knitters. 🙂 Stay safe out there though.

    Reply

  2. Posted by caityrosey on October 29, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    I hadn’t thought of that. What a year for a sky scarf on the East Coast!

    Reply

  3. I’m so glad you are doing ok! I couldn’t believe the photos of New York and New Jersey after Sandy hit. 😦 Keep hanging in there and enjoy that extra knitting time. 😀

    Reply

  4. Glad to see you’re making wise use of your hurricane days! I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t at least a little bit jealous!

    Reply

What do you think?

