Massive Productivity

First,

frost

Frost!

the first frost of the season! Just had to share that, because it’s exciting. Now on to the point of this post. I’ve been very productive the last few days. In addition to putting out the e-book(just a reminder, this is your last day to get a discount on it!), I had two big kid-free workdays at the day job. I finished an absolute mountain of paperwork and made skeletal plans through the new year, in addition to meetings and data analysis and putting together/hunting down lots of fun new resources.

As a reward for my day job productivity, I began to knit the Sandy-spun up into Urchin, as suggested by Lime Scented. I still don’t quite get the construction of it, but I’m having fun with it.

urchin

So green…

I’ve also begun work on a new design, and yesterday I finished off the undyed roving and will shortly dye it to match Urchin, so I have enough to finish the hat.

undyed

Lumpiness

There wasn’t much of it left, so I finally took out the pretty fluff I got from my sister-in-law almost two years ago. It’s been sitting in the closet because I was afraid of “ruining” it with my ineptitude, but the truth is it’s not any less wasteful to just let it sit in the closet forever.

I took out an armload of it (there really is a ton),

roving

One armload

and following Sarah’s advice split it up into teeny pieces way smaller than I normally work with.

stripes

Beautiful stripey goodness

I was aiming for about an arm’s length of yarn per piece, but it turns out I am not nearly skilled enough to guess how much yarn I’ll get out of a given amount of roving. Still, definitely smaller amounts than normal, and I also spun slower than normal. Keeping the spindle in my right hand most of the time seemed to help, inexplicably. In the end, I wound up with this:

yarn

Yarnz!

Still definitely not even, and way darker and greyer than I would have expected from the top, but much closer to what I’m going for than last time. No giant lumps of unspun wool, at least.

Now if you’ll excuse me, after a minor beading crisis caused by the hurricane and repeated UPS screw-ups, I’m finally ready to go catch up on my Sky Scarf while I watch some play-off soccer. Ciao!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lilly on November 7, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    Hi! I’ve been following your blog off and on for several months now – I decided to learn more about knitting and you have such an upbeat, fun way of talking about your knitting projects. If you don’t mind, I have a question: when did you learn to spin yarn? Is it hard to learn? And have you ever tried it with a spinning wheel? Thanks.

    Reply

    • Hi! To be honest, I saw enough other people spinning that I finally decided to get myself a spindle 2 years or so ago and taught myself the little bits I know off Abby Franquemont’s Youtube channel. I stopped spinning for a while and only just started getting back into it. There’s definitely a learning curve, but I am starting to see improvements! Sadly, I don’t know anyone with a wheel I could practice on. 😦 Just spindles for me.

      Reply

      • Posted by Lilly on November 13, 2012 at 9:09 am

        YouTube has been invaluable to me while I’m learning knitting – I will definitely check it out for spinning. I am such a visual learner – I never could learn to knit from books. Ironically, I’ve been a crocheter for years and years, and I can learn new crochet stitches from books. But I think that comes from my familiarity with it. And it is still very – I won’t say difficult… challenging! Yes, challenging to figure out how to handle two different needles at the same time when I’m used to only holding one hook. =)

        I’m looking forward to seeing your progress on your spinning.

      • Haha I had the opposite issue when learning to crochet. My left hand just sort of hovered awkwardly near my right cuz I couldn’t get the hang of not using it for anything but tensioning!

  2. Awesome, the spinning is going great! You will get the hang of the thinner spinning technique. Spinning is so much about the way it all feels as you work it with your fingers. 😀 I will post my skein when I finally get it finished.

    Also, for Lilly, good luck on your spinning! I can recommend this book:http://www.interweavestore.com/Spinning/Books/Start-Spinning.html. I use it. Also, definitely look up spinning yarn on youtube, like feelgoodknitting said; I learned a lot from finding good video clips. Finally, a great idea is to visit a local yarn shop in your town and ask if they have spinning classes. Many have groups you can sit in on for free to chat and learn from experienced spinners and yarnies. 😀

    Reply

    • I know it’s all about feel and muscle memory, like a bike, but I wanna be good noooooow. 😉

      Reply

    • Posted by Lilly on November 13, 2012 at 9:03 am

      Thank you for the recommendation.

      I now have a funny story: I did a quick google search on “spinning class” and my city. *laugh* I got a very long list of gyms and workout advice! I forgot that ‘spinning’ has multiple meanings, I was focused on the yarn aspect. =)

      I’ll also be checking out the local yarn shop – they don’t have a spinning class online in their class list, but maybe they know someone who does offer lessons.

      Reply

What do you think?

