Double Messy

I’ve got a two-fer for you today. First, we went out of town (just for one night!) and the cat did NOT approve. He took it out on a sweater WIP I didn’t pack.

messy cat

Sigh.

He was more than willing to “help” me clean up his mess though.

helping

So helpful.

Then, cuz it’s just been extra messy in Casa Feel Good lately, there was Urchin. I dyed up that second ball of hand-spun, and it was definitely not the same shade of green as the first. So this:

half done

Almost half done!

Had to become this:

redo

Take 2

So I could hide the fact that the dye lots aren’t quite the same. Luckily it’s not a very time-consuming pattern, but still – frustration. I’m beginning to suspect the gauge swatch on another project I’m knitting lied to me too, but that could be a whole other post. I love knitting I love knitting I love knitting…

 

Psst…I’d still love your opinion on this post too!

 

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Oh man….thank you kitty. Right for the WIP you didnt pack. Perfect.

    I laughed out loud at your dying troubles. I have yet to successfully dye several skeins the same shade. I get overexcited to dye and I forget to jot down how I created a shade. How many drops of food coloring to how much water ends up being a guessing game. Gotta get my act together.

    Also, I have some some designing but I haven’t made a Rav group. I admit, your post has me thinking about it too. I’d have to say though, I would expect the group to be pretty meager at first; it would take some real networking to get it off the ground. If you do make a group, make sure you let us all know so we can help make it popular. 😀

    Reply

    • Yeah I remembered the amount of each dye I used; it was the water I forgot to consider. I think the amount of vinegar may also have changed. Both pretty colors, and I think I blended them well, but not what I had in mind!

      We’ll have to join each other’s (so far hypothetical) groups and keep them active! They’ll be the most popular 2-person groups ever! 😉

      Reply

  2. Posted by Craftie Allie on November 13, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    LOL I’m having to repeat I Love Knitting to myself currently. So sorry about the cat incident.

    Reply

What do you think?

