A Mission

I have a mission for my readers (and myself). My best friend is getting married in September, and since we will likely be outside for at least part of her evening reception, I’d like to make myself a nice, lacy shawl. The catch is it needs to go with my bridesmaid dress. I already have the perfect beads to use as an accent, but I think I want the actual yarn to be as close to the color of the dress as possible. We’re wearing David’s Bridal’s Regency color, and satin, if anyone’s ever seen it in person before. For anyone who hasn’t, it’s roughly royal purple. There are lots of royal purple yarns out there, but I don’t even begin to know what yarn is closest in color, except that it’s none of the ones at my LYS. I’m not sure I’m quite confident enough in my dyeing abilities to make that shade of purple myself. Anyone have any experience here?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angela on March 10, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    Would it have to be purple? I mean, if you’re not wearing it during the ceremony, I would think it could just be a pretty coordinating color. Otherwise maybe.

    Reply

  2. […] For me, unless I’m knitting for a special event (like the upcoming new design for a friend’s wedding), I tend to wind up giving my shawls to a friend or relative. They’re one of the only things […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by caityrosey on April 14, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Seems like a neutral color might be easier.

    Reply

What do you think?

