Fiber Therapy

It’s hard to believe this break is almost over. Despite it being a lot more busy than I would have hoped, I still had plenty of time for fibery goodness. First I swatched up a bit of colorwork for a change and sent off a submission for a new design.

unpublished

Then there was also that sleeve I posted about Monday, which I’ve since reworked successfully. I also finished some lovely cabling for a design that’ll probably be released in late summer or early fall. I took the occasion to put together a nice little tutorial on grafting cables as well. That’ll come out next week.

cables

The main thing I’ve actually indulged in this week is spinning, though. I have been on a serious spinning kick. It included an utterly failed attempt at Andean plying which we won’t talk about. It also resulted in all the lovely 2-ply below though, which is growing ever more even but I suspect still not quite even enough to replace store-bought in a pattern. Not a clue what I’ll use it for yet, but it sure is pretty!

handspun

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lilly on April 12, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    Hi! I don’t comment very often, but I still definitely follow your blog. I finally took a Spinning 101 class at the local Fiber Festival last weekend! *excited* We had two different types of roving to work with during the class – one woolen preparation and one worsted preparation.

    Your yarn looks lovely! Now that I know a few things about spinning, I’d love to ask you some questions about the yarn you are making.

    1) What type of fiber are you using (carded or combed)? Where do you purchase your fiber supplies?

    2) What type of spinning are you doing? My class explained that there are four methods: woolen, worsted, semi-woolen, and semi-worsted. The main part that I remember is that woolen yarn has all the air in it (you let the spin travel up the fiber from the spindle) and worsted has the air squeezed out of it (you move the spin up the fiber with your fingers pinched onto it – giving a smoother look to the yarn).

    We also learned how to Andean ply – but I’m still a bit confused on the whole concept of the angle of twist and how to tell if you have too much or too little. And my little yarn sample looks very crazy – thick and thin and lumpy and weird… but I love it because I made it!! I’m looking forward to practicing my spinning now.

    (Sorry if I rambled too much at you. I’m just excited to actually know something about this whole process now! ^___^)

    Reply

    • Hi there! I believe my fiber is combed, but I couldn’t tell you for sure. The label doesn’t say. I mostly spin worsted, which is what the yarn pictured is. I tried Andean plying a week or so ago and it was an absolute disaster. Maybe my friend at http://weekendknitter.com/ can offer more advice there – I’m still learning myself! Mine was very lumpy up until very recently too. 🙂

      Reply

What do you think?

