Warm Weather Knitting

Wow, I am impressed at how enthusiastic you guys were about yesterday’s contest! I will have to do another scavenger hunt in the future! I was a little worried there wouldn’t be much response since many people stop knitting as the weather warms, and my sales typically dip then too. Clearly I am not the only one who continues to knit voraciously in spring and summer! What do you like to knit this time of year? For me…

1. Shawls

Leonardtown-Detail

 

Ironically, I don’t really wear shawls that much. I LOVE to knit them though. They’re lighter and more delicate than say, a cabled sweater, so they’re great for knitting when it’s warm out. If you’re a shawl-wearer, they’re also immediately wearable in the springtime. For me, unless I’m knitting for a special event (like the upcoming new design for a friend’s wedding), I tend to wind up giving my shawls to a friend or relative. They’re one of the only things I knit that are more about process than product.

2. Tank Tops

catch

For a while I was seriously skeptical about knitted summer shirts. Something about knitwear and summer just seemed mutually exclusive. Then I discovered linen. From there it progressed to cotton, silk, bamboo…there’s just no stopping me! Sleeveless tops knit up fast, even with thin, light-weight yarns. They don’t weigh much or make you sweat as they sit in your lap mid-project. AND…instant wearability! While central air-conditioning does allow me to knit long-sleeved pullovers and blankets in the summer, there’s nothing quite like the reward of putting on a piece fresh from the blocking board.

3. Socks

flourishing fields

 

No, I’m not going to wear these right away. In fact, I try to wear as little on my feet as possible, for as much of the year as possible. However, the cold weather will return eventually, and it’s always nice to have a fresh new pile of socks waiting for me when that happens. Socks are fast, light, and easy to stuff in a purse or carry-on when I’m traveling (as I tend to in the summer). Again, they’re small and not going to make me sweaty while I knit them.

I’ve also very recently discovered a serious affection for summery cardigans, thanks to a phenomenon I call the Summer Deep Freeze. Sometimes American businesses are just a little too enthusiastic about air conditioning for my taste. My school seems to be especially guilty of this, so look for a lot of new cardigans to come from me!

P.S. If you can’t tell from the photos, yes, the seasons do influence my color cravings. Spring means greeeeeeeeeen!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on April 1, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    Agreed about the whole summer deep freeze thing. One needs garments that can transition between inside and outside effectively. I use shawls at work all the time for this purpose.

    Reply

  2. I LOVE the blue tank top! Part of the time I live where it is VERY hot and have found shawls indispensable … people seem to keep their air conditioners running on high! I also use shawls when I sit in bed reading/watching TV (keeps my shoulders warm) and when I am working at my computer (no heavy sleeves to get in the way). Yup, I definitely use them! 🙂

    Reply

    • Shawls to avoid the heavy sleeves is a clever idea! I might have to start wearing them more.

      Reply

      • I tend to keep the indoor temp fairly cool, and years ago I realized it was easier to work at my computer wearing a shawl instead of a bulky wool sweater. (My go-to and curl-up-in sweater is an oversized bulky Lopi pull over in an unflattering but natural deep brown. I look a bit like Sasquatch but am warm and toasty!)

What do you think?

