3-Needle Bind Off

The 3-needle bind off is one of my favorites for shoulder seams – it works well with short row shoulders and produces a sturdy seam without too much bulk. It’s also really simple! To begin, you’ll need live stitches on your two working needles, plus a third, larger needle. The larger size is important to keep your bind off from getting tight and puckering.

Step 1

Step 1

To begin, you’ll need an even number of stitches on each working needle. Hold the needles together with the wrong sides facing outward.

Step 2

Step 2

Insert your needle through both stitches as if to knit.

Step 3

Step 3

Wrap your yarn as for a normal knit stitch and pull it through. You will have one stitch on the right needle. Repeat steps 2 and 3, so you have two stitches on the needle.

Step 4

Step 4

Using one of the needles with live stitches, pull the second stitch over the first – just like a normal bind off.

Repeat steps 2 through 4 until you have one stitch left, then finish as normal. Easy!

Need a project to practice on? Try my Hyacinth.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on May 5, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    I have a project that’s been hibernating for almost a year for want of finishing . Maybe I’ll try this with the sleeves.

    Reply

  2. I thought I really liked3 needle bind of….except I wasn’t doing it right! I frogged the last Bo I used with, followed your instructions and it looks soooo much cleaner! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  3. I’m a big fan of the 3 needle bind off. I’ve finished a pair of cuff down socks with it once using a bobby pin for a third needle. (They were so close to being finished and my shoes were rubbing)

    Reply

  4. Ditto. When a garment is heavily weighted, this is a way to go to keep it a nice frame. Nice tutorial 😀

    Reply

What do you think?

