Book Review: Yarn to Go

I recently had the opportunity to read a not-yet-released book called Yarn to Go, by Betty Hechtman. Reading something before the masses is always exciting for a bookworm like me. I admit I was a little nervous about this one, because I’ve read some really driveling knit-themed fiction before. After a bit of a slow start with a character I wasn’t really warming up to (and she wasn’t even a knitter!) I was even more worried.

yarn to go

I have to admit it though, Ms. Hechtman sucked me in. The main character grew a lot more human and likable soon enough, and actually her portrayal of the little North Pacific resort town might be what really hooked me. I love feeling like I’ve been someplace new after a book, and she definitely does a good job of making me feel like I’ve seen the Monterey Peninsula.

While I had a couple of “main suspects” throughout the murder-mystery, and one of them was indeed the killer, I genuinely didn’t know which one it would be until the big reveal. Maybe I’m just not as experienced a mystery reader as some. It certainly made sense in the end though! She does a good job of tying the knitting into the mystery/whole story as well, rather than plopping it down arbitrarily on top of the storyline. Hechtman does seem to be writing a knitting novel for non-knitters though, and over-explained a tad much for my taste.

muffins

Yarn to Go also comes with a knitting pattern and a recipe in the back of the book. I skipped the pattern, as it is also designed for non-knitters. It is a good pattern for a total beginner, but less appealing to me. I did try the recipe though. I have to say they’re the richest, most chocolatey cupcakes muffins I’ve ever had. Definitely good served warm with a tall glass of milk.

All in all, a worthwhile read!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Grats on your review! Very readable. Did you let the PR lady know you posted it?

    Reply

  2. Sounds like an interesting read – shall look out for it.

    Reply

  3. Sounds like my sort of book and my sort of cakes! I love murder mysteries and knitting so the two together are a good combination. Thank you for the review. I’m going to add it to my ‘to read’ list.

    Reply

What do you think?

