Messy Bead Problems

In this post I mentioned ordering new beads because I didn’t have enough to complete the shawl the way I wanted. As it turns out, while the beads were sold under the same name they are not the same. The beads I’ve been using are discontinued. Crud.

I went out and bought a massive load of new purple beads, but because they don’t match the originals either, I had to rip out all my progress (*sob*) and start again. Then, because this is a self-published pattern and I’m not contracted to any other company, I went ahead and changed the initial lace pattern too. This is one of several reasons I love to self-publish – if I decide on a whim a change will improve my pattern, there’s absolutely no reason I can’t change it. No company will feel cheated or surprised or like they didn’t get what they’ve paid for, and I don’t ever feel obligated to publish what I feel is less than my best. It’s a total win.

new lace

Here’s the new lace, unblocked.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Very pretty!

    Reply

  2. Posted by caityrosey on June 10, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Way to think positively.

    Reply

  3. Good for you to stand your grow and do it your way. The lace is very pretty, but where are the beads?

    Reply

  4. How very frustrating. I do hope that it turns out better than ever! As you are so amazing I am giving you an award for commenting on my blog. It will up on my blog later tonight (hopefully!)

    Reply

What do you think?

