Planning Ahead

I’m going to be spending a lot of hours in the car over the next few weeks, and probably a good number of hours waiting around in offices for things to happen as well. This means I need both a good travel project, and one that’s fairly mindless and won’t require me to check a chart every few minutes. As much fun as I’m having working on the shawl, that’s not going to cut it.

shawl

Not a chance.

Since I finished the spiral socks rather faster than planned, I need a new project. The daily high hasn’t been below 90 in about a million years, so I’ve been craving something light and summery. However, my stash of summer fibers is oddly lacking, and I’m reluctant to buy new yarn this close to moving day. I’ve got plenty of bits and fractions of skeins that aren’t really good for anything but swatches, plus the yucky cotton blend I just finished frogging and am not ready to reattempt yet, and then this lone skein of gorgeousness:

pima silk

There’s not much yardage in it, so I don’t really have a clue what I could do with it. It’s definitely a summer fiber blend, and lush enough that I’d like to wear it against my skin, I think. I will have to mull it over. In the mean time, it looks like it’ll be another pair of easy-peasy socks I can’t really wear for a few months. I did find this mysterious unlabeled ball in my stash though,

blue

so at least they’ll be a pretty color.

P.S. Happy Independence Day to all my fellow Americans!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful color! Pima blends can be so soft and buttery.

    Reply

  2. Good lord, I have no idea what a buttery blend is!!

    Anyhow, how lovely that you have a hobby/avocation that you can carry with you. I’ve tried writing on the run. I used to do it all the time in the days of pencil and paper, but nowadays a portable computer takes up room and requires muscles, and I can’t seem to adjust to laptops. And I’ve forgotten how to compose with a pencil (except poetry…I can compose poetry anywhere with anything lol).

    Hope you enjoy your trip.

    Reply

  3. Posted by caityrosey on July 5, 2013 at 10:31 am

    Make lots and lots of cute blue silk/cotton headbands? Could be a fun design experiment. Lots of small canvases.

    Reply

What do you think?

