Cardigans

Somewhere between Denver and here, my beloved Mythos cardigan disappeared.

mythos

 

I didn’t really have many cardigans to begin with, and was already worrying about how to maintain a comfortable temperature in my freezing cold school building when I go back next week. Layers are an absolute necessity when it’s in the 90s outside and the 60s inside. Losing this cardigan means I am down to two, and absolutely need to get cracking on some new ones ASAP. The first one is going to need to be pretty simple since I will want to wear it soon too!

There are certainly plenty of pattern options out there. The real question is, do I break down and buy new yarn? Or can I possibly make a cardigan out of the bits I already have in stash? I’m pretty sure stripes would be a necessity there. What do you think?

P.S. Check out this multi-pound bucket o’berries we got at the farmer’s market! It doesn’t have anything to do with the post; I’m just really ridiculously happy about it. You’ll have to imagine it a little more full; there’s no way it was lasting untouched all the way home.

blackberries

19 responses to this post.

  1. There is something to be said for stash busting and stripes, I love them both! But I also love to buy new yarn! Perhaps a little of both? Buy new yarn for the main and stripe with the stash? Good luck! X

    Reply

  2. Posted by countingsheepstudio on August 11, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    Buy NEW Yarn!! It’s easy for me to tell you to do that…have fun.

    Reply

  3. I love blackberries. As for yarn…..do whatever your heart says. xx

    Reply

  4. Posted by Craftie Allie on August 11, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    I like the idea of buying some new yarn but striping with some stash yarn. Do keep us updated!!

    Reply

  5. Stripe it! Go stash digging!

    Reply

  6. I love stripes, and they are always going to be on trend. As long as you pick colours that go with things you want to wear!

    Reply

  7. Life is too short to put off buying new yarn!!

    Reply

  8. First of all, I LUVVVVV that sweater you are wearing. And it matches the dress so beautifully. If I were you and I had lost that gorgeous sweater (and I had your knitting talent), I would go ahead and knit the same sweater again.

    I’m not a big fan of stripes, but that’s just me. If your wallet is going to dictate what you make, then I’d go with new yarn for the main, and stash yarn for the stripes.

    Reply

    • I loooooved the sweater too, but I almost never reknit patterns. It’s just never as fun the second time. I’m sure I will find something new to love as much as the old one though!

      Reply

  9. Do both – cardigans are so useful!

    Reply

What do you think?

