Swept Away

Wow, I kind of disappeared there this week, didn’t I? Well, to make it up to you I’ve come back with a new pattern! This one will be familiar to those of you who read regularly, as I’ve posted about it all through its creation process. I am so thrilled to finally present to you: Swept Away.

Swept Away

Regular readers will know this shawl was inspired by a wedding I was recently in. In part it came about because my friend was getting married in late September on the waterfront (brr!), but in part also because I wanted something truly special and well-loved to remind me of her big day. This shawl is absolutely both of those things.

Swept Away Full

It is absolutely large enough to have kept me warm throughout the wedding day, but so delicate and translucent that it is clearly a fashion statement and a formal piece, not just a means of keeping warm. The beads don’t dominate the piece; they just add a bit of sparkle that combines with the shine of the yarn’s silk content for quite a sophisticated look.

Swept Away beads

Combined with the shawl’s drape and (lack of) weight, it is just everything I envisioned. It suited the dress, it suited the venue, it suits me enough that I will continue to wear it in the future – and I will never be able to wear this shawl without thinking of my friend’s wedding day and smiling. Swept Away  is everything I wanted, and I hope it will be the same for you.

P.S. Check out a couple more awesome pictures of the wedding and shawl on my project page.

9 responses to this post.

  1. It is beautiful. Your designs are really to my style. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by caityrosey on November 16, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Wow. Absolutely stunning.

    Reply

  3. That’s a stunning piece. Thank you for turning into a pattern to share!

    Reply

What do you think?

