Survival

Survival is definitely the theme of this week. I did manage to survive to Winter Break (obviously), although the virus I always seem to get on breaks from school showed up right on time. Unfortunately my schedule does not slow down for a couple days yet. The Winter Break Plague doesn’t seem to know about that particular part of my calendar!

tree skirt

“Christmas Tree Skirt No. 1971” by Carole

However, in addition to surviving 39 hyperactive ten year-olds the week before vacation and (for many of them) Christmas, I have also now survived the darkest days of the season. The solstice was yesterday, and each day from now on will be just a bit brighter than the one before it, literally.

apples

“Striped Apple” by Ala Ela

We’re also having a fantastically unseasonable warm spell, just days after our last dusting of snow. It’s supposed to be back to unseasonably cold by tomorrow evening, but for now I’m enjoying it. I’m clinging to little things like the warm and the returning sun to help me get through these next few days of being incredibly social while I’d rather be curled up in bed.

sharktopus

No pattern. Just Sharktopus.

Most of my knitting right now is samples and swatches that I can’t share with you, so instead I’m sharing a few of my favorite little holiday projects I’ve done over the years. Happy crafting is another great way to survive the “endless” bits!

8 responses to this post.

  1. I showed the sharktopus to my husband…he said “why?” I said “just for fun”. He said “that looks like a lot of fun!” He was being sarcastic, but I agreed with him anyway lol.

    Reply

  2. Let’s hope that virus soon departs. I worked in a school for 13 years myself so I know all about catching those horrors. Try and rest between your jobs?

    Reply

  3. Get well soon! Your past projects look so cute! Happy Christmas!

    Reply

  4. I love the photos you used.

    Reply

What do you think?

