Photos

I won’t go into the USOC/Ravelympics debacle here. I’ve pretty much summed up my feelings here, and frankly the whole thing saddens me enough to just want to move on.

So.

Not 20 minutes after my last post the new camera arrived, and I’ve spent (almost) every spare second since then playing with its settings. I’ve never really messed with manual settings before, and experimentation really is my favorite way to learn.

I took an old, mediocre photo of my Sky Scarf taken with the old camera, then recreated it with the new camera. I didn’t change any external factors (location, background, time of day, artificial lighting, etc), which makes it extra exciting to think what kind of pictures I can produce once I start playing with those as well. See what just changing the camera settings does:

This is the original, taken with my old camera

This is the new camera set to auto mode. Already the colors are more accurate

Since I was indoors in my rather dark apartment, I tried the “low light” option in the shooting modes.

Next I played with the manual white balance. This one turned out best.

I experimented with the ISO too. ISO 400 seems to be the best of the batch, so I guess it wasn’t that dark after all.

What I take away from all this:

1. Take lots of photos. It doesn’t cost anything as long as you don’t print them all, and unless you’re a super-phenom and not working with anything that might move, you really can’t predict which shot will be the perfect one.

2. Even auto mode to auto mode, a decent camera really does make a difference.

3. Cannon’s shooting modes are a godsend for people like me just sticking a toe in the deep end.

4. Poor white balance is probably the reason photos with my skin always look so bizarre.

5. Higher ISOs are better for darker shots.

6. I really have a whole lot of buttons left to push. And I have no clue what most of them do.

Any one have any more tips or insights for my new favorite toy?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by caityrosey on June 21, 2012 at 9:03 am

    I’ve been reading a lot of posts about camera work and craft photos recently. There’s a lot I need to learn.

    Reply

  2. Posted by caityrosey on June 21, 2012 at 9:04 am

    Also be careful. I’ve heard that on the high end cameras one of those buttons is a sun dimmer. You have to make sure to reset it afterward or the rest of the planet may be permanently affected 😉

    Reply

  3. […] summer I got a new camera, and posted about how much better it is than my old camera. I’ve slowly been using it to take improved, […]

    Reply

What do you think?

